Aidan Donnelley Rowley, author of The Ramblers, on tour October 2016

Posted By on October 2, 2016

the-ramblers-pb-coverAbout The Ramblers

• Paperback: 416 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (October 4, 2016)

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan—the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village—The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley’s sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York’s wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City—an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Photo credit: Elena Seibert

Photo credit: Elena Seibert

About Aidan Donnelley Rowley

Born and raised in New York City, Aidan Donnelley Rowley graduated from Yale University and received her law degree from Columbia University. She is the author of a previous novel, Life After Yes, and the creator of the Happier Hours Literary Salons. She lives in Manhattan with her husband and three daughters.

Find Aidan on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Tour Stops

Tuesday, October 4th: she treads softly

Wednesday, October 5th: The Book Chick

Thursday, October 6th: Palmer’s Page Turners

Friday, October 7th: Art @ Home

Monday, October 10th: Tina Says…

Wednesday, October 12th: Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers

Thursday, October 13th: The Reading Date

Friday, October 14th: Stephany Writes

Monday, October 17th: Book by Book

Tuesday, October 18th: Vox Libris

Wednesday, October 19th: Just Commonly

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.