Jessica Anya Blau, author of Drinking Closer to Home, on tour January/February 2011

Posted By on December 9, 2010

About Drinking Closer to Home

• Paperback: 368 pages
Publisher: Harper Perennial; Original edition (January 18, 2011)

“Riveting and startling….So raw and funny I wanted to read parts aloud to strangers.” —Dylan Landis, author of Normal People Don’t Live Like This

“Jessica Anya Blau…creates characters that have a lot more depth and more of a past than one often sees in fiction these days…. I found it impossible not to care about them—and equally impossible to forget them. Blau is a magnificent writer, and this is one special novel.” —Steve Yarbrough, author of Safe from the Neighbors

From Jessica Anya Blau, critically-acclaimed author of The Summer of Naked Swim Parties, comes a new novel of California, growing up, and learning to love your insane family. Perfect for fans of Jess Walter, Kevin Wilson, and Michael Chabon, Drinking Closer to Home is a poignant and funny exploration of one family’s over-the-top eccentricities—a book Ron Tanner calls “heartfelt and hilarious.”

About Jessica Anya Blau

Jessica Anya Blau is a graduate of the University of California, Berkeley and The Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University, where she received her Masters in fiction. Currently, she is a Visiting Assistant Professor at Goucher College in Maryland. She has been awarded scholarships from Bread Loaf and The Sewanee Writer’s Conference, and fellowships from Johns Hopkins University and Sewanee. Her stories have won numerous awards and have appeared in notable magazines and anthologies, as well as the textbook The Prose Reader, Essays for Thinking. Jessica’s first novel, The Summer of Naked Swim Parties, was selected as a Best Summer Reading Book by the Today Show, the New York Post and New York Magazine. The San Francisco Chronicle, along with other major newspapers, chose The Summer of Naked Swim Parties as a Best Book of 2008.

Find out more about Jessica at her website, and follow her on Facebook!

Jessica’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS

Tuesday, January 18th: Teresa’s Reading Corner

Wednesday, January 19th: Life in the Thumb

Thursday, January 20th: Scraps of Life

Monday, January 24th: Rundpinne

Tuesday, January 25th: Sara’s Organized Chaos

Thursday, January 27th: Book Club Classics!

Wednesday, February 2nd: Write Meg

Thursday, February 3rd: Chefdruck Musings

Thursday, February 3rd: After ‘I Do’

Wednesday, February 9th: Clever Girl Goes Blog

Thursday, February 10th: Alison’s Book Marks

  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Perennial; Original edition (January 18, 2011)

Comments

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.