Mark Millhone, author of The Patron Saint of Used Cars and Second Chances, on tour July/August 2009

Posted By on June 26, 2009

millhone_home_04About Mark

Mark Millhone is an award-winning writer, filmmaker, columnist and teacher. 

After graduating from Columbia University with an MFA in Film Direction and winning the Academy Award for Best Student Film, Mark spent more than five years wandering the vast desert of Hollywood development hell before resurfacing as a screenwriting professor at NYU Film School and the Dysfunctional-Male-in-Residence at Men’s Health Magazine. His humorous columns for that magazine (and his need to deal with a very un-humorous year from hell for his family) are what begat his memoir, The Patron Saint of Used Cars & Second Chances (coming out in hardcover on July 7th). 

But, of course, like every other moron who went to film school, what Mark really wants to do is direct and has several projects in development: The Other Jennifer (a romantic-comedy based on one of his magazine columns) and Serenity Falls (his Sisyphusian attempt to re-make Chinatown set in present-day Dallas, Texas). Cameras roll on his feature film directorial debut Minuteman, this summer. 

Mark lives in New York and has two lovely children and two rather strange-looking dogs.

Patron Saint loAbout The Patron Saint of Used Cars and Second Chances

  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Rodale Books (July 7, 2009)
  • ISBN-10: 1594868239
  • ISBN-13: 978-1594868238
  • A man reconnects with his dad and finds his way back from a year filled with tragedy and loss in this touching memoir that puts a humorous cast on some of life’s darkest moments

    In the course of one nine-month period, filmmaker Mark Millhone’s youngest son nearly died from birth complications, his father was diagnosed with prostate cancer, his mother had a heart attack and passed away, a freak illness claimed the life of one of his friends, and his career imploded.  As a result of his membership in what he calls the “tragedy of the month club,” his marriage also began to fray.

    Millhone responded to the chaos as many men might:  Late one night, he logged on to eBay and bid on a vintage BMW-his fantasy car, but not exactly what the doctor ordered when it came to his family’s finances.  As if sharing the news that he’d won the auction with his already-peeved wife weren’t bad enough, it turned out that he had to travel from New York to Texas to collect the car.  His estranged dad joined him, and together they embarked upon a dysfunctional road trip-a comedy of errors that would lend Millhone the perspective he needed to save his marriage and to understand what was really important in his life:  his family.

    Acerbic and hilarious but with heart, this memoir will appeal to readers of Chuck Klosterman, David Sedaris, and Nick Hornby, as well as readers of Millhone’s “Guy Wisdom” column in Men’s Health.  His male perspective on a troubled marriage, raising children, coping with loss, and rejuvenating a relationship with a parent will appeal equally to both sexes.

    Mark Millhone’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

    Monday, August 3rd:  A High and Hidden Place

    Wednesday, August 5th:  Book, Line, and Sinker

    Thursday, August 6th:  The Book Lady’s Blog

    Monday, August 10th:  2 Kids and Tired Book Reviews

    Wednesday, August 12th:  A Sea of Books

    Wednesday, August 19th:  Luxury Reading

    Friday, August 21st:  Beth Fish Reads

    Comments

    Leave a Reply

    We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.