Minrose Gwin, author of The Queen of Palmyra, on tour May 2010

Posted By on March 16, 2010

About The Queen of Palmyra

In the turbulent southern summer of 1963, Millwood’s white population steers clear of “Shake Rag,” the black section of town. Young Florence Forrest is one of the few who crosses the line. The daughter of a burial insurance salesman with dark secrets and the town’s “cake lady,” whose backcountry bootleg runs lead further and further away from a brutal marriage, Florence attaches herself to her grandparents’ longtime maid, Zenie Johnson. Named for Zenobia, Queen of Palmyra, Zenie treats the unwanted girl as just another chore, while telling her stories of the legendary queen’s courage and cunning.

The more time Florence spends in Shake Rag, the more she recognizes how completely race divides her town, and her story, far from ordinary, bears witness to the truth and brutality of her times—a truth brought to a shattering conclusion when Zenie’s vibrant college-student niece, Eva Greene, arrives that fateful Mississippi summer.

Minrose Gwin’s The Queen of Palmyra is an unforgettable evocation of a time and a place in America—a nuanced, gripping story of race and identity.

“The most powerful and also the most lyrical novel about race, racism, and denial in the American South since To Kill a Mockingbird.”
— Lee Smith, author of On Agate Hill

An atmospheric debut novel about growing up in the changing South in 1960s Mississippi in the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees and Kathryn Stockett’s The Help. In the words of Jill McCorkle (Going Away Shoes), “Minrose Gwin is an extremely gifted writer and The Queen of Palmyra is a brilliant and compelling novel.”

About Minrose Gwin

Minrose Gwin is the author of the memoir Wishing for Snow, cited by Booklist as “eloquent” and “lyrical”—”a real life story we all need to hear.” She has written three scholarly books and coedited The Literature of the American South. She teaches contemporary fiction at UNC–Chapel Hill and, like her young protagonist, grew up in a small Mississippi town.

Minrose’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS

Tuesday, May 4th: five borough book review

Wednesday, May 5th: The Bluestocking Society

Monday, May 10th: Rundpinne

Tuesday, May 11th: Natty Michelle

Wednesday, May 12th: Pam’s Perspective

Wednesday, May 12th: My Reading Room

Wednesday, May 19th: Staircase Wit

Thursday, May 20th: Lit and Life

Tuesday, May 25th: Dolce Bellezza

Wednesday, May 26th: Take Me Away

Thursday, May 27th: Life and Times of a “New” New Yorker

Monday, May 31st: Green Jello

Tuesday, June 1st: Crazy for Books

Wednesday, June 2nd: Bluestalking

Comments

One Response to “Minrose Gwin, author of The Queen of Palmyra, on tour May 2010”

  1. I just came over from Rundpinne looking to see where I could purchase. Her review of this book is fantastic … I have to buy it.

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.