Nick Pengelley, author of RYDER: Bird of Prey, on tour May 2015

Posted By on February 23, 2015

Ryder: Bird of PreyAbout Ryder: Bird of Prey

Published by : Alibi (May 05, 2015)
Pages: 238

Fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins will devour Ryder: Bird of Prey, the latest white-knuckle thriller featuring Palestinian-born, British-educated adventurer Ayesha Ryder. She’s one of fiction’s boldest heroines—and now she’s rewriting royal history.

According to the last words of a dying man, the Maltese Falcon was no mere legend: The fabulously jeweled golden bird really existed—still exists, in fact. And Ayesha Ryder is hot on its trail. Rumor says the Falcon conceals clues to the burial place of Harold II, the conquered Anglo-Saxon King of England—and to an artifact of astonishing significance that few besides Ryder would understand.

Hunted by Scotland Yard, MI5, and those who seek the Falcon to break up the United Kingdom, Ryder joins forces with Joram Tate, a mysterious librarian with a reputation for turning up things that don’t want to be found. Soon Ryder and her handsome, erudite new companion are venturing through lost tombs and ancient abbeys, following a trail left ages ago by the Knights Templar.

Ryder knows she’s close to a game-changing secret, hidden for a thousand years beneath an English castle. But with ruthless killers waiting in the wings, Ryder must go medieval—to defend her life, her country, and the world as we know it.

Praise for Ryder

“[Nick] Pengelley sets an unconventional story loose on and below the streets of London. With his unusual heroine, the author rejects the clichés of action-adventure thrillers and delivers a surprisingly entertaining read.”Library Journal (starred review)
 
“An exciting thriller with characters that you can’t help but like . . . a thrill-a-minute story . . . well worth reading . . . Pengelley has a hit with the character of Ayesha Ryder.”Fresh Fiction

“This fast-paced crime/political thriller not only is timely for today’s Israeli-Palestinian conflicts, but it delves into historical events that helped shape the way the region’s political climate has evolved. . . . Get ready for an edge-of-your-seat ride featuring a kick-butt heroine bent on justice . . . I had a blast reading Ryder.”—Popcorn Reads

“An Indiana Jones–type adventure . . . Ryder has an Angelina Jolie–esque quality about her. . . . She is strong, both mentally and physically, and she was an amazing character to read. . . . [Ryder is] a literary roller-coaster ride I truly appreciated!”—Read-Love-Blog

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | Books-A-Million | Barnes & Noble

 

UnknownAbout Nick Pengelley

Nick Pengelley is the author of the political thrillers Ryder, Ryder: American Treasure, and Ryder: Bird of Prey. Australian by birth, he’s had careers in Australia, Canada, and the United Kingdom as a law professor, legal consultant, and analyst on Middle East politics, which is his passion. Pengelley lives in Toronto with his family.

.

Nick Pengelley’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, May 4th: A Fantastical Librarian

Monday, May 4th: No More Grumpy Bookseller

Tuesday, May 5th: Vic’s Media Room

Wednesday, May 6th: My Book Retreat

Thursday, May 7th: Bell, Book & Candle

Friday, May 8th: Joyfully Retired

Monday, May 11th: Reading Reality

Thursday, May 14th: Read Love Blog

Monday, May 18th: Reading to Distraction

Tuesday, May 19th: Book Nerd

Wednesday, May 20th: Dwell in Possibility

Thursday, May 21st: Patricia’s Wisdom

Tuesday, May 26th: 2 Kids and Tired Book Reviews

Thursday, May 28th: Book Babe

Friday, June 12th: Queen of All She Reads

Comments

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.