Alafair Burke, author of The Ex, on tour January/February 2016

Posted By on December 2, 2015

The Ex coverAbout The Ex

• Hardcover: 304 pages
• Publisher: Harper (January 26, 2016)

Twenty years ago she ruined his life.

Now she has the chance to save it.

In this breakout novel of suspense in the vein of Luckiest Girl Alive and The Girl on the Train, a woman agrees to help an old boyfriend who has been framed for murder—but begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Widower Jack Harris has resisted the dating scene ever since the shooting of his wife, Molly, by a fifteen-year-old boy three years ago. An early morning run along the Hudson River changes that, when he spots a woman in last night’s party dress, barefoot, enjoying a champagne picnic alone, reading his favorite novel. Everything about her reminds him of what he used to have with Molly. Eager to help Jack find love again, his best friend posts a message on a popular website after he mentions the encounter. Days later, that same beautiful stranger responds and invites Jack to meet her in person at the waterfront. That’s when Jack’s world falls apart.

Olivia Randall is one of New York City’s best criminal defense lawyers. When she hears that her former fiancé, Jack Harris, has been arrested for a triple homicide—and that one of the victims was connected to his wife’s murder—there is no doubt in her mind as to his innocence. The only question is, who would go to such great lengths to frame him—and why?

For Olivia, representing Jack is a way to make up for past regrets and absolve herself of guilt from a tragic decision, a secret she has held for twenty years. But as the evidence against him mounts, she is forced to confront her doubts. The man she knew could not have done this. But what if she never really knew him?

Praise for The Ex and Alafair Burke

“With an all-too-real mass shooting in a richly observed Manhattan as its springboard, The Ex is  an expertly crafted, intricately woven novel that  is as emotionally complex as it is riveting.”—Kimberly McCreight

“Burke’s female characters are always very involving, with big, strong voices.” —Gillian Flynn

“A major talent.”—Harlan Coben

“Burke writes deftly about secrets  buried close to home.”—Meg Gardiner

“Burke’s novels always deliver and constantly surprise. They’re both addictive and utterly rewarding.”—Megan Abbott

Add to Goodreads badge

Purchase Links

Amazon | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

Alafair Burke APAbout Alafair Burke

Alafair Burke is the New York Times bestselling author of ten previous novels, including the standalone thrillers Long Gone and If You Were Here, and the Ellie Hatcher series: All Day and a Night, Never Tell, 212, Angel’s Tip, and Dead Connection. She is also the coauthor of the Under Suspicion series with Mary Higgins Clark. A former prosecutor, she is now a professor of criminal law and lives in Manhattan.

Find out more about Alafair at her website, connect with her on Facebook, and follow her on Twitter.

Alafair’s Tour Stops

Tuesday, January 26th: Sara’s Organized Chaos

Wednesday, January 27th: A Bookish Way of Life

Thursday, January 28th: Curling Up by the Fire

Friday, January 29th: You Can Read Me Anything

Monday, February 1st: My Book Retreat

Tuesday, February 2nd: Luxury Reading

Thursday, February 4th: A Bookworm’s World

Friday, February 5th: Peeking Between the Pages

Tuesday, February 9th: Kritters Ramblings

Wednesday, February 10th: Dreams, Etc.

Thursday, February 11th: Jenn’s Bookshelves

Friday, February 12th: From the TBR Pile

Tuesday, February 16th: Lesa’s Book Critiques

Thursday, February 18th: JulzReads

Friday, February 19th: FictionZeal

Monday, February 22nd: Book Hooked Blog

Comments

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.