Carla Buckley, author of The Deepest Secret, on tour March 2014

Posted By on November 18, 2013

the deepest secretAbout The Deepest Secret

  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Bantam (February 4, 2014)

For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.

Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.

Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control—and some secrets that not even love can conceal.

Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power—a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.
Praise:
“Every family is vulnerable, and every parent knows it. Carla Buckley masterfully portrays a family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis. A memorable novel about how far a parent will go for her child, The Deepest Secret will make you count your blessings.”—William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob

“An electrifying and sensitive portrait of an ordinary family struggling with tragic circumstances . . . Every page aches with searing emotions that build to a heart-healing conclusion.”—Chevy Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of Always Watching

The Deepest Secret is a mesmerizing page-turner for the era of Big Brother and constant surveillance: Who is guilty and who is innocent? Loved ones are not exempt from suspicion, as the devastating power of a mother’s love has unimaginable consequences that kept me riveted until the very end.”—Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator’s Wife

carla-buckleyAbout Carla Buckley

Carla Buckley was born in Washington, D.C. She has worked as an assistant press secretary for a U.S. senator, an analyst with the Smithsonian Institution, and a technical writer for a defense contractor. She lives in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, with her husband, an environmental scientist, and their three children. She is the author of The Deepest Secret, Invisible, and The Things That Keep Us Here, which was nominated for a Thriller Award as a Best First novel and the Ohioana Book Award for fiction. She is currently at work on her next novel.

Visit Carla’s website or Facebook for more information.

Carla Buckley’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, March 3rd:  Jen’s Book Thoughts

Tuesday, March 4th:  Kritter’s Ramblings

Tuesday, March 4th:  Great Imaginations

Wednesday, March 5th:  girlichef

Thursday, March 6th:  No More Grumpy Bookseller

Friday, March 7th:  Not in Jersey

Monday, March 10th:  She Treads Softly

Monday, March 10th:  Why Girls Are Weird

Tuesday, March 11th:  Knowing the Difference

Friday, March 14th:  A Bookish Way of Life

Monday, March 17th:  Daily Mayo

Monday, March 17th:  Julz Reads

Tuesday, March 18th:  Cerebral Girl in a Redneck World

Tuesday, March 18th:  Tiffany’s Bookshelf

Wednesday, March 19th:  Book Dilettante

Thursday, March 20th:  A Bookworm’s World

Friday, March 21st:  Simply Stacie

Monday, March 24th:  Jenn’s Bookshelves

Tuesday, March 25th:  Book Hooked Blog

Wednesday, March 26th:  The Best Books Ever

Thursday, March 27th:  Ageless Pages Reviews

Comments

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.