Zoë Heller, author of The Believers, on tour January/February 2010

Posted By on December 21, 2009

About Zoë

Zoë Heller is the author of Everything You Know and What Was She Thinking?: Notes on a Scandal, which was short-listed for the Man Booker Prize and made into an acclaimed film starring Cate Blanchett and Judi Dench. Heller lives in New York.

About The Believers

“[Zoë Heller] is an extraordinarily entertaining writer, and this novel showcases her copious gifts, including a scathing, Waugh-like wit.”—New York Times

Best-selling author Zoë Heller has followed up the critical and commercial success of What Was She Thinking?: Notes on a Scandal with another tour-de-force on the meaning of faith, belief, and trust: The Believers. Tragic and comic, witty and intense, The Believers is the story of a dysfunctional family forced by tragedy to confront their own personal demons. In the vein of Claire Messud and Zadie Smith, Zoë Heller has written that rare novel that tackles the big ideas without sacrificing page-turning readability.

When a stroke fells radical New York lawyer Joel Litvinoff, a secret is revealed that forces Audrey, his wife, to reexamine everything she believed about their forty-year marriage. In the meantime Joel’s children are struggling with their own dilemmas and doubts. Disillusioned revolutionary Rosa has been drawn into the world of Orthodox Judaism. Karla, a devoted—and married—social worker hoping to adopt a child, is falling in love with the owner of a newspaper stand. Lenny, the ne’er-do-well, faces yet another relapse into heroin addiction. In the course of battling their own demons—and one another—the Litvinoffs must reexamine long-held articles of faith and decide what—if anything—they still believe in.

Zoë’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS

Tuesday, January 19, 2010: Lit and Life

Tuesday, January 26, 2010: Raging Bibliomania

Wednesday, January 27, 2010: Steph and Tony Investigate!

Thursday, January 28, 2010: Life in the Thumb

Thursday, February 11, 2010: The Brain Lair

Monday, February 15, 2010: Book Club Classics!

Tuesday, February 16, 2010: lit*chick

Wednesday, February 17, 2010: Sasha and the Silverfish

Thursday, February 18, 2010: Nonsuch Book

Monday, February 22, 2010: A Reader’s Respite

Thursday, March 4, 2010: Write for a Reader

Comments

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.