Ellen Herrick, author of The Forbidden Garden, on tour April 2017

Posted By on April 3, 2017

About The Forbidden Garden

• Hardcover: 400 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow (April 4, 2017)

“Captivating […] Herrick weaves a rich tapestry of family lore, dark secrets, and love.” —Brunonia Barry, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader and The Fifth Petal

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, comes a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life.

Every garden is a story, waiting to be told…

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate.

Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Generations have tried—and failed—to bring it back to glory. Sorrel senses heartbreak and betrayal here, perhaps even enchantment. Intrigued by the house’s history—especially the haunting tapestries that grace its walls—and increasingly drawn to Stella’s enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden’s destiny is entwined with her own, if she can only unravel its secrets…

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Ellen Herrick

Ellen Herrick was a publishing professional in New York City until she and her husband moved to London for a brief stint; they returned nearly twenty years later with three children (her own, it must be said). She now divides her time between Cambridge, Massachusetts, and a small town on Cape Cod very much like Granite Point.

Find out more about Ellen at her website and connect with her on Facebook and Twitter.

Tour Stops

Friday, April 7th: View from the Birdhouse

Monday, April 10th: The Book Bag

Tuesday, April 11th: Kahakai Kitchen

Wednesday, April 12th: Broken Teepee

Thursday, April 13th: Flavia the Bibliophile

Friday, April 14th: Art @ Home

Monday, April 17th: Kritters Ramblings

Monday, April 17th: Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile

Tuesday, April 18th: No More Grumpy Bookseller

Wednesday, April 19th: A Bookish Way of Life

Thursday, April 20th: Patricia’s Wisdom

Friday, April 21st: Literary Quicksand

Thursday, April 27th: Tina Says…

Thursday, April 27th: M. Denise Costello

Friday, April 28th: Just Commonly

Comments

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.