Pamela King Cable, author of Televenge, on tour November/December/January 2013

Posted By on September 7, 2012

About Televenge

Paperback: 584 pages

Publisher: Satya House Publications (October 5, 2012)

Andie Oliver is a faithful woman—to God, to husband Joe, and to elevangelist Reverend Calvin Artury, a Godfather in a Mafia of holy men.

Raised to be subservient and submissive in the tradition of the Bible-belt South of the 70’s, she becomes a prisoner of that tradition. As a reluctant member of Artury’s evangelical megachurch, the House of Praise in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, Andie’s dream of children, home, and marriage falls apart when Joe is hired on the ministry team.

The charismatic Reverend conducts faith-healing crusades, creating the largest religious TV audience in the world, surpassing the income and followers of Oral Roberts and the Reverend Billy Graham combined. Working limitless hours, Joe is sucked deeper into the ministry while Andie attempts to free him from the Reverend’s control and far-reaching influence.

But it is Mavis Dumass, Andie’s best friend since birth, a sassy African-American woman and aspiring recording star, who holds the secrets to Reverend Artury’s carefully veiled debauchery. What happens to Mavis will not be forgotten as it leaves Andie near mental collapse and struggling for freedom from the cult’s grip.

Andie is still unaware of the extreme danger their pastor wields until she witnesses the murder of a church member. Fearing for her life, Andie plummets from a dreadful existence to a horrific one as she uncovers Reverend Artury’s long-hidden truths, and loses everything. But she strikes back, threatening to expose the Reverend to the world.

Reverend Artury reverts to the twisted “cleansings” of his childhood. Raised by two  psychopathic aunts, he mentally declines and quickly, Andie must go into hiding. Fighting for redemption for her family and herself, Andie confronts the very definition of sin, and shakes the Christian evangelical world to its core. Evading ruthless adversaries who will go to any lengths to protect Reverend Artury, Andie battles the dark side of televangelism, forever changing a nation of evangelicals.

With more twists and turns than the Blue Ridge Parkway, Televenge exposes chaos in the megachurch, and embraces those who discover unconditional love in a world of religious deception. A story of hope, of deliverance, and strength of the human spirit. An unforgettable tale of unconditional love, heartbreaking loss, an invincible spirit, and incredible courage.

“A captivating, beautifully rendered, unforgettable look at a world so few of us understand. Ms. Cable has courageously opened the door…and my eyes.”–Lesley Kagen, NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling Author of Good Graces

“Pamela King Cable’s debut novel breathes good and evil, frost and fire. You can finish it, but it won’t let you go.”–Jacquelyn Mitchard, NEW YORK TIMES Bestselling Author of The Deep End of the Ocean

Televenge is “ … an emotional rollercoaster that ends as intensely as it begins . . .those who commit to Cable’s tome will find themselves captivated and deeply devoted to Andie. Fans of Fannie Flagg and Janet Evanovich will be hooked on this saga of religion, romance, and crime.”–Library Journal Editor’s Pick BookExpo America 2012, Shannon Marie Robinson, Library Journal

Find out more about Televenge on the author’s website or the book’s Facebook page.

About Pamela King Cable

Pamela is the author of the highly acclaimed collection of short stories, Southern Fried Women. Born a coal miner’s granddaughter and raised by a tribe of wild Pentecostals and storytellers, Pamela is an award-winning, multi-published author who loves to write about religion and spirituality with mystical twists she unearths from her family’s history. As a young adult she was married to a megachurch ministry team member and attended years of megachurch services. She has taught at many writing conferences, and speaks to book clubs, women’s groups, national and local civic organizations, and at churches across the country. More than a decade in the writing, Televenge is her debut novel. She lives in Ohio with her husband, Michael, and is working on her next novel.

Pamela King Cable’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Wednesday, November 13th:  Patricia’s Wisdom

Wednesday, November 21st:  Speaking of Books

Thursday, November 29th:  A Fair Substitute for Heaven

Monday, December 10th:  My Book Retreat – author Q&A

Monday, December 17th:  Jenn’s Bookshelves

Friday, January 4th:  Broken Teepee

Monday, January 7th:  Fiction Addict

Wednesday, January 9th:  I Am A Reader, Not A Writer – author guest post

Tuesday, January 15th:  The Written World

Tuesday, January 22nd:  Sara’s Organized Chaos

Thursday, January 24th:  Literally Jen

Monday, January 28th:  Reviews by Molly

Wednesday, January 30th:  West Metro Mommy

Friday, February 1st:  The Book Pushers

Comments

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.