J. Kent Messum, author of Bait, on tour Aug./Sept. 2013

Posted By on May 23, 2013

BaitAbout Bait

Paperback:  288 pages

Publisher:  Plume (August 27, 2013)

Whatever you do, don’t read this one on the beach. 

Six strangers wake up on a remote island in the Florida Keys with no memory of their arrival. They soon discover their sole commanlity: all are heroin addicts from the slums of Miami. And all of them are aching for their next fix.

As the excruciating pangs of withdrawal become more and more pronounced, the six face their captors across open water. The four shadowy figures on the yacht are dangerous predators who know that their victims’ need never falters—and that the creatures that swim beneath the waves have equally rapacious appetites.

There is a note. No one is coming to your aid. We have ensured this. So begins a dangerous game. The six must make an unimaginable choice—swim to the next island where a cache of the purest heroin awaits; or die trying. As the fight to survive intensifies, the astonishing motivations of the men on board ship emerge, raising the stakes to towering heights.

Photo credit IanSchwaier

Photo credit IanSchwaier

Part Hunger Games, part Trainspotting, and part Jaws, this absolutely addicting novel is ideal for fans of Stephen King and Chuck Palahniuk. BAIT is a high-octane novel that explores the line between strength and frailty.

About J. Kent Messum

J. Kent Messum is an author, musician, and always bets on the underdog. He lives in Toronto with his wife, dog, and three cats.

Connect with the author on his website,  Twitter and on Facebook.

.

 

.

J. Kent Messum’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:

Monday, August 26th:  Tiffany’s Bookshelf

Tuesday, August 27th:  Book Chatter

Friday, August 30th:  Tina’s Book Reviews

Tuesday, September 3rd:  From the TBR Pile

Wednesday, September 4th:  No More Grumpy Bookseller

Thursday, September 5th:  Ageless Pages Reviews

Monday, September 9th:  Mental Foodie

Thursday, September 12th:  Bewitched Bookworms

Monday, September 16th:  A Bookworm’s World

Tuesday, September 17th:  Literally Jen

Wednesday, September 18th:  October Country

Tuesday, September 24th:  You’ve GOTTA read this!

Tuesday, October 1st:  Simply Stacie

Comments

Leave a Reply

We see and read all comments, but we don't publish them. You can get ahold of us by leaving a comment or by emailing us at lisamunley@ca.rr.com and trish@tlcbooktours.com.